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The Basics of Play

The Sequence of Play

Chapter 4

The game is played in alternating turns. A 
turn is one side’s activity. During “your” 
turn, you are the active player, and your 
opponent is the passive player. At the 
conclusion of your turn, these roles 
switch. The game continues in this IGO-
UGO sequence until one side is defeated. 
At the beginning of his turn, the active 
player declares whether or not he will 
reshuffle. If he has no cards remaining in 
his deck, then he has no choice; he must 
reshuffle.
Next, the active player declares whether or not he will invoke a fire phase. 
He must play a card to do so, and then he may play a modifying card, prior 
to rolling any dice for his shooting units, if he wishes to modify his units’ 
effectiveness in fire.
After the fire phase (if there is one), the active player may make one command 
choice. He has three options. He may invoke a movement phase, or a combat 
phase, or he may pass. In the first two cases (invoking a phase), he must play 
card(s) to do so, and he may play another card to modify the phase. 
During the active player’s turn, the passive player may interrupt him by play-
ing an interrupt card, if he has one. Interrupt cards generally hinder the active 
player’s actions in some way.
In the status phase both sides must redraw, taking cards from the top of their 
decks to refill their hands back to their hand size. 
The active player then removes smoke markers from all of his units. He checks 
to see if he has met the conditions for winning the battle and, if so, the game 
ends. If not, another turn is played.

Sequence of a Turn
1.	 Option to Reshuffle.

2.	 Option for a Fire Phase.

3.	 One Command Choice: 
Movement, Combat, or Pass.

4.	 Status Phase:
•	 Both sides redraw.
•	 Remove smoke markers.
•	 Victory.
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The Action Cards

In order to be clear on procedure, we use the following terms to describe 
cards:
The deck of action cards includes neutral cards, and national cards (with 
flag in the lower left, indicating nationality, either Federal or Confederate.) A 
player’s deck is: the neutral cards, plus his side’s national cards. The Confeder-
ate player never uses any of the Federal national cards, or vice-versa.
Each player keeps his deck face down in one corner of his side of the game 
table. 
A player’s hand is: those cards he presently holds, and can use in play. When 
a card is used in play it goes, face-up, into the discard pile, which is placed 
beside the deck. Cards in that pile are called “discards.” Your enemy may not 
inspect your hand, deck, or discard pile, although each player has a right to 
know how many cards his enemy holds in his hand. 

Hand Size

Each player has a hand size, which is the maximum number of cards he may 
hold in his hand. Unless modified by historical scenario or advanced rules, 
the standard hand size is six cards. Drawing cards to restore the hand to its 
size, which happens in the status phase of each turn, is called redrawing. (For 
example: if you have two cards left in your hand, then you would redraw four, 
to refill your hand to six.)

Year Indicators

Several cards have year indicators, which note the historical years during 
which that card should be in play. For example, if a card’s year indicator reads: 
63-65, then you should add that card to your deck only for a game set in 1863 
or later. If the year indicator reads: 61-62, then you should remove that card 
from your deck in a game set after 1862, and so on. 

The Year Indicators and the National Cards
The Federal war effort was sluggish at best in its first year. As time passed, how-
ever, the great northern advantages in numbers, technical ability, and industrial 
output all combined to make the Yankee army a juggernaut. The Confederate 
cause, by contrast, rapidly hit the ceiling of its abilities. As losses mounted they 
struggled just to maintain that strength, much less to increase it. 
In the early war the Confederate player has a larger selection of cards than his 
Federal opponent. As the years go by, the Union player steadily adds cards to his 
deck while the Confederate player steadily removes them from his deck. 
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Reshuffle

As the first step of his turn, a player must declare whether or not he will 
reshuffle. If he has no cards remaining in his action deck, then he has no 
choice; he must reshuffle. 
In a reshuffle, all of the active player’s discards are combined with all of the 
remaining cards in the action deck. They are reshuffled and then placed face-
down to create a new action deck. 
Reshuffling has no effect on a player’s hand. He does not discard any cards 
from his hand, nor draw any into his hand, when he reshuffles. (That comes 
later in his turn.)

Reshuffling Penalty

Each time he reshuffles and creates a new action deck, the player must then 
deal the top six cards from that deck and - without looking at them - remove 
them from the game. They are set aside somewhere, and do not return in this 
game. Thus a new deck, after being reshuffled, is six cards smaller than the 
previous deck.
Since a player can reshuffle any number of times, his deck gets smaller. 
Reshuffling may eventually result in the deck having no cards at all, in which 
case the player will not be able to redraw, and his hand will soon run out.

No Voluntary Discards

A player may never voluntarily discard cards from his hand. Cards only leave 
his hand as a result of being used for game play.

Game Table
(Not to Scale)

Broke Box

Hand

Your table edge Your table edge

Deck Discards

Removed from 
the Game



33The Basics of Play

Effect Text
When played for its effect, 

this describes the card’s use.

Nationality
This flag indicates a 

Confederate national card. 

Year Indicator
This card is in use only 

during these years.

Interrupt Symbol
This card’s effect may be used 

by the passive side only.

Morale Value
The passive player may play a card for its 
morale value, thus removing hits scored by 
the enemy’s fire, or reducing losses caused 
by enemy charges.

Anatomy of the Action Cards

Modifying Symbol
This is a modifying card for a combat phase. 
The card’s effect may be applied by the ac-
tive side, to a combat phase. 

Banner
The card’s title.
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Banners and Effect Text

Every card has a banner with the card’s title. Beneath the banner is a block of 
effect text explaining the card’s specific effects, when played for modification 
or interrupt. If you are playing a card for the purpose explained in that text, 
then you are playing the card “for effect.”

Playing Card(s) to Invoke a Phase

The active player must play a card whenever he wants to invoke a phase. If he 
invokes a fire phase, he must play a card. If he invokes a movement or combat 
phase, he must play a card. 
Any card may be used to invoke any phase. 
The active player is not required to follow-through on the phase that he 
invokes. For example, he could invoke a combat phase and play a modifying 
card, but then be surprised by a nasty interrupt card played by his opponent, 
and he might decide therefore not to attack after all. The active player must 
discard any cards used to invoke and modify a phase, whether he then uses 
that phase or not.

Disorder Requires Two Cards

If he wants any of his units to do anything that causes disorder in a movement 
or combat phase, then the active player must use two cards to invoke that 
phase. He may then play another card to modify the phase, if he wishes.

Morale Value

In the upper left corner of each card is a number in a small box. This is its 
morale value. The passive side may play cards for their morale values when 
being fired upon or when being charged by enemy units. In both cases their 
effect is to mitigate the damage done by enemy action. This is fully explained 
in chapters five and seven.

Modifier Symbol

If a card has a modifier symbol in the right-
hand portion of its banner, then it may be 
played as a modifying card. There are three 
modifying symbols:
The rifle modifies a fire phase. 
The crossed swords modify a combat phase.
The bugle modifies a movement phase.

Using Action Cards

Fire

Combat

Movement
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Modifying a Phase

When the active player invokes a phase, he must declare at that time whether 
or not he will also play one modifying card for effect. The active side may 
only play a modifying card if it has the correct symbol for that phase. Not all 
cards have modifier symbols. Only those which have a symbol may be played 
as modifiers. 
The proper sequence is for the active player to announce that he is invoking 
a phase, and then to declare whether or not he is modifying it. For example: 
“I’m invoking a movement phase with this card... and modifying it with this 
Quickstep card.”
The active player may use no more than one modifying card of each symbol 
in a turn. Thus, he might invoke a fire phase, and modify it using a card with 
the fire modifying symbol. And then he might invoke a movement phase, and 
modify it using a card with the movement symbol. But he may not modify the 
same phase more than once.

Interrupt

A card with the kepi symbol in its banner is an 
interrupt card. Only the passive side may play 
it for effect. Doing so interrupts some action or 
activity in the active player’s turn. The passive 
side may play only one interupt card in a turn.
Some interrupt cards use the word “immediately,” as in: “...play immediately 
after the enemy invokes a movement phase....” This means that the passive 
player waits until the active player invokes the phase and modifies it (if he does 
modify it), and then he must play the interrupt card before the active player 
takes any action for that phase. For example: the Federal player announces that 
he is invoking a movement phase, and he uses a Quickstep card to modify the 
phase. Before any Federal units move, the Confederate player interrupts him by 
playing the Old Rivals card, which means that one Federal unit will not move in 
this phase. Once the Federal player began moving units, it would have been too 
late for the Confederate player to use that interrupt.
Some interrupt cards indicate that they are played at the start of the enemy’s 
turn. This means that the passive player must play that card for its effect at 
the very beginning of his enemy’s turn, before the active player has declared 
whether or not he will reshuffle.

Interrupt
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Red = Remove

A few interrupt cards have red banners, rather 
than the normal dark blue. If a card with a 
red banner is played as an interrupt, then it 
is removed from the game. It is not discarded, 
and it will thus not be reshuffled into the deck. 
If the card is played for any other purpose, 
then it is discarded normally.
For example: a player holds the They Couldn’t 
Hit An... card. If he plays it to invoke a phase, 
or for its morale value, then he discards it nor-
mally. However, if he plays it for its interrupt 
effect, then it is removed from the game, and 
will not reappear in his deck during this battle.

Redraw

In the status phase both sides must redraw. Each player draws a number of 
cards from his deck, to refill his hand. 
If the action deck does not have enough 
cards remaining to refill his hand, a player 
draws however many cards remain in his 
deck. (That will leave the deck with no 
cards, meaning that he must reshuffle at the 
start of his next turn.)
If a player ever begins a turn without any 
cards in his hand, then he will not be able to 
invoke any phases, and he must pass. 

Pass

A player may declare that his command choice is to pass. He thus invokes no 
movement or combat phase, and proceeds to the status phase.
A player may not pass if he passed in his immediately-previous turn. (In other 
words: you may not pass two turns in a row.)
If a player passes when he has no cards remaining in his action deck or discard 
pile (regardless of how many he still holds in his hand) then he immediately 
loses the game. 

Redrawing Action Cards

When Are Cards Removed 
from the Game?
•	 If played for a red-banner 

interrupt.

•	 Six are removed from the 
deck when reshuffling.



37The Basics of Play

Detailed Example of a Turn

It is the Confederate player’s turn. 
First he declares that he will not reshuffle. 

Confederate fire is resolved. 
Next, the Confederate player declares that his command choice 
is a movement phase.

Movement with Disorder. 
The Confederate player wants 
his units to move through 
difficult terrain, so he plays 
two cards to invoke the phase 
(the second card is the cost for 
disorder.)

He then declares that he will 
modify the movement phase by 
playing the Quickstep card.

Fire Phase. 
The Confederate player uses the At 
the Double card to invoke a fire phase, 
and he declares that he will use 
Exposed Position to modify the phase.

Interrupt!
Before the 
Confederate player 
fires, the Federal 
player interrupts 
with Bad Fuses. 

This example depicts a very “busy” turn in which the Confederate player used 
almost his entire hand of cards. Most turns will not see this much card play. 
Note that the Federal player, having used his Interrupt card in the enemy’s fire 
phase, may not play another interrupt in the movement phase.

To invoke the phase

To modify the phase

To invoke the phase

To modify the phase


